Posted in Uncategorized

Is Norway Expensive? Let’s Find Out…

To all those eager eyes & ears, this blog documents all my pre-travel checks & estimated expenses to plan my trip to Norway. Everything I know and researched about Norway would take a mention in my upcoming blogs.

As most of you know, this trip is a part of my birthday challenge to backpack Norway in under £100 (approx INR 9000). Read more about the challenge in this blog. This is the first time I’m documenting my researches and travel plans during my trip. Let me know how you feel about being a part of my journey.

Courtesy: Giphy

Being in Oslo for the last couple of days, I’ve tried spending more time to learn about the history and interacting with the locals to gain more insights about living in Norway.

Did you know, Norway was rated as the 2nd most expensive country in the world. Through my series of blogs I’ll take you on a path to enlightenment which testifies that you don’t need to spend a fortune to travel. All you need is a little patience & a pinch of flexibility. I have always travelled budget since my college days. I am a strong doer of things that others finding it challenging. My friends always crib about my travels and how expensive is travelling for them. However, I have a different opinion – Why do I have to spend a fortune on something that can be done in budget? That’s exactly how I travel.

Let’s deep dive into Norway!

Let’s look at some of the top reasons, that makes Norway Expensive

  • World’s highest living standards – highest GDP per capita
  • Oil Sheikh of Europe (contributes to 20-25% of GDP & world’s 5th largest oil exporter)
  • Expensive arctic farming & cultivation (makes food expensive)
  • 25% VAT + additional tax on items that are bad for health (alcohol, cigarettes, cars)
  • High taxes for benefits – Citizens have FREE education, health care & social security, generous pension schemes
Courtesy: Giphy

What is affordable in Norway?

  • Seafood & fish
  • Electricity is half the price due to abundant hydro power
  • Camping is free, yes you read it right
  • Imported stuff are cheaper than native manufactured items

Some of my best budget international travel experiences have been in Sri Lanka (INR 7000), Bhutan (INR 6000), Cologne (£75), Berlin, Antwerp, Edinburgh (£50). Host me to know more about these experiences 😉

And don’t forget to keep watching this space for some amazing budget backpacking tips that I am experiencing in Oslo…

Courtesy: Giphy

If you have any special tips for my current time in Oslo, dont forget to drop me a comment below.

Read.Share.Like.Repeat

Author:

Namaste! I'm a budget traveller & I haven't left my career to travel, because I love my weekdays as much as my weekends. With my full time job, I've managed to leave my footprints in a dozen of countries & a thousand cities. I am a bit crazy about the fact that I tend to challenge myself with budget travel. Including return tickets and accommodation I have travelled to Sri Lanka at INR 7000, Bhutan at INR 6000, Scuba Dive at INR 500, Free Snorkelling in Indian Ocean and so many more. I'm also an hobbyist photographer who loves to capture memories. I love being consumed by fitness activities and sports that lead to an aberration to normalcy. I believe in LIVING life & not just survive. I'm a human being who's humble enough to know that I'm not better than anyone but wise enough to know that I'm different from the rest. If you have the power to make someone happy, do it now, the world needs it :) Spread smiles :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.