Posted in tips, travel

Off to Norway on my birthday and this is what I have planned…

Say Hello to celebrations, bonfires, fall leaves, scary pumpkins, woolly sweaters, fur boots, cold nights & hot chocolates…

Courtesy: Giphy

It’s OCTOBER and my birthday month, no prizes for guessing my age, however, don’t forget to wish me ‘Happy Journey’ while you celebrate Halloween & I celebrate my trip to a new city in a new country. To top it up, it’s gonna be doubly interesting due to BREXIT happening on my special day (anyway let’s not discuss that here :-P).

Courtesy – Giphy

Did you know on my birth day,
– WW2 Battle of Britain ended
Mount Rushmore construction completed after 14 years
Statue of Unity began and opened to public
– every year I make it a point to travel to a new destination (Himachal, Kerala, Singapore, Andaman, Berlin so far)
– this year its neither my way nor your way, coz its Norway

So I have planned a short trip to Norway to celebrate my birthday this year in the Scandinavia. Last year I was gifted a surprise trip to Berlin on my birthday by my partner. This year since my visa expired, I had to apply for a new one & this doesn’t come by surprise, as you all know the visa procedure is a bit time consuming.

Being on Indian passport, it’s not easy to get through countries without a valid visa. My current Schengen visa got me frustrated when I got to know the duration of its validity. I was only given the number of my trip days as the duration of visa validity 😦 Disgusting news for a traveller like me. I would never recommend anyone to Norway embassy for a schengen visa.

I usually keep an eye on the flight tickets from UK to rest of the world for budget getaways. This time I managed to grab a great travel bargain from Ryanair with return tickets to Norway as cheap as £30 (which is about $37 & INR 2600). Do I need any other excuse to travel? Not really, but what about my work? Well, I will be burning just two working days from my annual leaves for this holiday 🙂

Courtesy: Giphy

In the next 15 days, I will be booking my accommodation & local transport (if any). I’ll be obliged to hear about your trips if you have been to Oslo before. Do drop a comment on this blog about your recommendations & experiences for me.

Last but not the least, I have challenged myself to get this vacation done in under £100. Do you think I’ll be able to succeed? I would love to hear from you.

A goal without plan is just a wish, so let’s start planning…

Author:

Namaste! I'm a budget traveller & I haven't left my career to travel, because I love my weekdays as much as my weekends. With my full time job, I've managed to leave my footprints in a dozen of countries & a thousand cities. I am a bit crazy about the fact that I tend to challenge myself with budget travel. Including return tickets and accommodation I have travelled to Sri Lanka at INR 7000, Bhutan at INR 6000, Scuba Dive at INR 500, Free Snorkelling in Indian Ocean and so many more. I'm also an hobbyist photographer who loves to capture memories. I love being consumed by fitness activities and sports that lead to an aberration to normalcy. I believe in LIVING life & not just survive. I'm a human being who's humble enough to know that I'm not better than anyone but wise enough to know that I'm different from the rest. If you have the power to make someone happy, do it now, the world needs it :) Spread smiles :)

One thought on “Off to Norway on my birthday and this is what I have planned…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.