Why Sandakphu?


Sandakphu or Sandakfu or Sandakpur (3636 m; 11,941 ft) is the highest peak in the state of West Bengal, India. It is the highest point of the Singalila Ridge in Darjeeling district on the West Bengal-Nepal border. The peak is located at the edge of the Singalila National Park and has a small village on the summit with a few hostels. Four of the five highest peaks in the world – Everest, Kangchenjunga, Lhotse and Makalu can be seen from its summit.
-Courtesy Wikipedia

Hola! Imagine, a genie grants you a wish to see world’s highest peaks, (I was the genie for myself) how would you react? Insane, crazy, excited, no end to imaginations, right? Exactly!! That’s how my trek journey began…

The idea of being able to see – world’s highest peaks, excited me to book my trek to Sandakphu. Before I booked this trek, I wanted to trek Goechala, but due to bad weather and no suitable trek date, I managed to get my booking done for Sandakphu. And my decision rocked.

The moment I clicked Submit & Make Payment button, a river of emotions started flowing through my mind. I booked a trek that would give me a lifetime opportunity to see mother earth’s highest peaks, wow! Seemed like my dream for Everest came an inch closer to me with this trek (Yeah! I still dream about Everest)

Wondering what these mountains are? Have a glance, I’m sure you will pack your bag right away…

1. Mount Everest – 8,848 metres (29,029 ft)
– Earth’s highest mountain
– 1st among world’s highest 7 summits
– Country/Borders : Nepal, India

mt-everest-peak
Courtesy – Mount-Everest.net

2. Mount Kangchenjunga – 8,586 m (28,169 ft)
– 3rd highest mountain in the world
– 2nd highest Himalayan peak
– 1st highest Indian peak
– Country/Borders : India, Nepal

Kanchenjunga1
Courtesy – Transadventures

3. Mount Lhotse – 8,516 metres (27,940 ft)
– 4th highest mountain in the world
– Country/Borders : China, Tibet, Nepal

Kongma La 11 Lhotse West Face, Lhotse South Face. Lhotse Shar Close Up
Courtesy – MountainsOfTravelPhotos

4. Mount Makalu – 8,485 metres (27,838 ft)
– 5th highest mountain in the world
– Country/Borders : Nepal, China

Makalu
Courtesy – Wikipedia

5. Mount Kabru – 7,412 metres (24,318 ft)
– extends from Kangchenjunga south top
– Southern most peak in the world

Mt._Kabru_at_sunrise_Sikkim_India_October_2013
Courtesy – Wikipedia

6. Mount Kumbhakarna

kumbhakarna
Courtesy – Project Himalaya

7. Mount Pandim – 6,691 m (21,952 ft)

Mt_pandim
Courtesy – Commons.Wikimedia.org

 

The sight of such mighty mountains amaze you and make you speechless. You realize how tiny you are in this universe. And trust me, there’s no happiness better than the joy of seeing them after a hardship of difficult terrains. Similar to what lays advertised, I feel no one can do this only once 😉 One has to come back to Himalayas again and again…its like your first love, always special 😀

Since this is not my first Himalayan Trek, I managed to save my pocket money on expenditure towards shopping for the trek.

For a complete travel/trek checklist, Read Travel essentials

“Mountains are calling I must go…”
Join me for the next part of my journey

Read Sandakphu Phalut Part 2

